TGIF… And Thanksgiving Weekend, SCORE! Oh, and did I mention that I HATE MAC’S!?

Hurray for Fridays!  Literally, I never realized how motivating one particular day of the week can be… at least, until I came to St Lawrence College.  Work, work, and finally some play!  Although Friday is still part of the –greasy- week of education us students encounter here at SLC.  It’s the one day that everyone looks forward too. Wouldn’t you agree?  So, kick off your shoes, relax, party and most of all catch up on sleep.  Wonderful?   I think so.

So, last week I noticed that a few students in my MCOM 1-102 (computer skills for communicators) class really despised the iMovie assignment we recently completed. The due date for the movie was like a typical Friday, except loaded with frustration and tensions and well.  Everyone couldn’t wait for that date to come just so it would be over and done with.  “OMG. This project is so dumb. Like why do we have to make movies, this program doesn’t even make sense. Why are Mac computers so hard to useeee!?”  Yup, that was me.  Along with the other students who were going through the same mental instability and frustration brought forth by our good friend, Apple.

MacBook Air

You would think that Apple -leader of brand loyalty and master of innovation- could produce a computer for students that wouldn’t require knowledge of rocket science and quantum physics…  Are Mac computers really that difficult to navigate and use? Hmm, let me see. YES! Yes they are!  Coming from a person who only uses Mac commuters to take photos in photo booth, I still don’t understand why you can’t do the following like a normal PC computer. (I LOVE MY HP PAVILION g6.)

  • Right click on a photo and “save as” into “ my pictures” . YOU MUST DRAG.
  • Adobe Photoshop.  What the hell? Where is my photo…
  • Copy .  Command V… w,x,y,z.  WHAT HAPPENED TO RIGHT CLICKS?

I soon realized that it wasn’t so bad after all. Self- teaching + commitment + time consumption = success!

After all of the pain and suffering through iMovie tutorials and banging my head on the desktop, I did it. And might I add, I did it well: 9/10, not bad. Thanks Robin!  If you want something done, do it yourself. Oh, and Macs aren’t so bad any more.  Just sayin’.

R.I.P  Steve Jobs & Happy Thanks Giving!

Leave a Reply

